Sign In

Severn Sound Environmental Association

Skip Navigation LinksSevern Sound Environmental Association > Programs & Projects > Source Water Protection

​​Severn Sound Source Protection Authority (SSSPA)


The Severn Sound Source Protection Authority (SSSPA) is part of the South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Region. The SSSPA consists of nine municipalities with 32 municipal groundwater systems and two surface water systems. 

Risk Management

The SSEA provides services as a Risk Management Official and Risk Management Inspector under the Clean Water Act, 2006 Part IV delegation agreements for the following municipalities; the Townships of Georgian Bay, Oro-Medonte, Severn, Tay, Tiny, the Towns of Midland and Penetanguishene, as well as the District Municipality of Muskoka.


The following annual reports were prepared in accordance with section 81 of the Clean Water Act, 2006 to satisfy the annual reporting requirements of the South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Plan.

SSSPA Meetings, Minutes, and Agendas

A schedule of the quarterly Severn Sound Source Water Protection Authority meetings as well as minutes from past meetings and agendas for upcoming meetings are available. More Information...

SSSPA Assessment Report

The Severn Sound Source Protection Area Assessment Report describes both the vulnerability of municipal drinking water systems to deterioration in water quality and quantity, and those activities that could be significant threats to drinking water (SSSPA AR, 2010). The Assessment Reports received Ministry of Environment approval on January 26, 2015. More Information...

A reference hard copy of the SSSPA Assessment Report is available to the public at the Severn Sound Environmental Association Office. The SSEA Office is open from Monday to Friday from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. Keep in mind that this is a reference hard copy that stays in the SSEA Office.

Approved Source Protection Plan

The South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Plan plan is a document with local policies that serves to protect current and future municipal drinking water sources from overuse and contamination.   It was approved by the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change on January 26, 2015 and took effect on July 1, 2015.  More information ...​

2015 Severn Sound Source Protection Authority Members:

Councillor Ron Stevens (Chair)Township of Severn
Councillor Dave Ritchie (Vice Chair)Township of Tay
Councillor Jack ContinTown of Midland
Councillor Robert KloostraTown of Orillia
Councillor Mike LauderTown of Penetanguishene
Councillor Barbara CountancheTownship of Oro-Medonte
Councillor Perry RitchieTownship of Springwater
Deputy Mayor Steffen WalmaTownship of Tiny
Councillor Paul WianckoTownship of Georgian Bay
Keith ShermanSSEA Executive Director
Lynn DollinChair, South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Region (SGBLSSPR)

South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Region Committee Members

The South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Region Committee exists to ensure an open process is followed in the development of reasonable, science based policies that protect municipal sources of drinking water now and into the future. 

Who are the SPC Members?

Ontario Drinking Water Stewardship Program

Funding is no longer available at this time for landowners within specific areas near municipal water supplies. More Information...

North Simcoe Municipal Groundwater Study

In 2001, a study of local groundwater resources of the North Simcoe Study Area was completed. The study delineated local aquifers, identified risks to groundwater quality and quantity, completed Wellhead Protection Area delineation for all municipal water supplies and provided planning tools for protecting and managing groundwater (NSMGW Study, 2001).